Different Laws enacted by Utah legislature have produced opposite safety results for Utah kids. The first law lowered the driver’s permit age to 15. Utah teenagers are hitting the road at a younger age, and experts say that is increasing the accident rate in this age demographic. According to the Utah Department of Public Safety, 15-year-old drivers are 26 percent more likely to be involved in a crash.
The second law has undeniable benefits for a different age group. This law requires children 8 and under to be in a car booster seat. According to KSL news, data gathered from across the country shows that a 7-year-old who wouldn’t normally be in a car seat is now 105 percent more likely to ride in a booster. “That is a significant number when you are looking at the number of children we have in this state,” said Janet Brooks, child advocacy manager for Primary Children’s Medical Center.
Car Seat Safety Data
According to The Center for Disease Control, Child safety seats reduce the risk of death in passenger cars by 71% for infants, and by 54% for toddlers ages 1 to 4 years. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recommends that children stay in some type of restraining seat until they are 8 years old or 4″9″ tall. Also, children should always ride in the back seat. Children and teens 16 years and younger are 40% less likely to be killed in an auto accident when they ride in the back seat.
Ron Kramer is a Utah personal injury and accident lawyer practicing throughout the state. Call the Kramer Law Group today at 801-666-3959 for a free consultation if you are in need of a Utah car accident attorney.